Kicky and 40s

I started the Retro 40s dress earlier today.  The fabric has been sitting there for a couple weeks while I did other things and worked a bit on the Tardis dress (more on that later, it’s almost done!).  Suddenly, I really just wanted to get this done.  I think I was just feeling in the retro mood.

Simplicity 1777

Simplicity 1777

I’m using Simplicity 1777 since I got it on one of those fabulous sales.  It’s a cute dress with two necklines and sleeves, which is not something I usually do for some reason and exactly why I wanted it.  I have fun little summer retro dresses but nothing for spring for fall.  This will be a fun addition if it turns out well.

A swatch of the fabric.  And yep, I have instagram and I can't help it...  I like playing around with it.

A swatch of the fabric. And yep, I have instagram and I can’t help it… I like playing around with it.

The fabric is silky type print.  No, it isn’t silk or anything special like that but I like the print which has a retro ‘feel’ to it.  It isn’t a retro print or anything close to it, but I like taking a retro shape and playing with more modern styling and fabric choices.  Plus, fabric has to want to be something; it’s how I pick out fabric for projects and this one screamed for a 40s style.

Still needs sleeves, zipper and hem and probably needs to be taken in.

Still needs sleeves, zipper and hem and probably needs to be taken in.

I’m about half way through the dress.  I can tell you that the pleats are a pain in the rear.  They’re not overly difficult but fussy with slippery fabric.  It seems like a lot of bulk in one place but with the yoke/center piece, it came together pretty well.  I will say that it runs a bit different than the measurements on the back.  Usually, in modern dresses, I’m any where between a 2-6 in size but cut a 12 in retro patterns based on my waist measurement, about 28 inches.  I’m thinking I will  have to take it in a bit when it is all said and done, especially in the bust.

So far, it’s a kicky little dress and I can’t wait to put the sleeves on, the zipper and hem it.  After all that, I’ll decide if I need to take it in.

Leave a Reply

