Finished in time for the ball!

I finished the ballgown today and then promptly threw it on and did up my hair to take pictures with it.  All I can say is that it is a very fun, little ballgown to wear and I definitely feel like I should be spouting witting banter with Mr. Darcy or passing secret smiles with Mr. Knightley.

Here I'm borrowing my mother's white scarf and I picked up some vintage ivory gloves that are not of the period but will do nicely I think.

Here I’m borrowing my mother’s white scarf and I picked up some vintage ivory gloves that are not of the period but will do nicely I think.

 
It isn’t a carbon copy of the fashion plate but I think it still has the feel of it and I clearly do not have the bust line of the character drawn there.  Add to that, my fabric looks a bit stiffer than what I can assume is delicious silk, the likes of which I cannot afford for a one time ball.  Silk and other beautiful fabrics I reserve for civil war and a few other eras that I know I’ll use again and again.  I also drew from shapes of the period rather than just this one image and created the skirt shape you see here with the full back.

The buttons in the back look pretty good against the green.

The buttons in the back look pretty good against the green.

The back is easily one of those fun things: full and pretty in the back with buttons… oh those troublesome buttons.  Or rather, my sewing machine did not want to sew buttonholes and fought me the entire way to the point where I said: fine, you win, good enough.  There not overly hideous but considering the machine had stitched perfect buttonholes prior, I’m a bit confused by it all.

I am wearing my regency half stays under this (my favorite period stays of all time because of what it does for my bustline) and a petticoat to keep that silly satin that likes to cling to things.  One of these days I’ll add beautiful period shoes for this era but for now, my silver flats will do because they are comfortable and worn it, perfect for a night of dancing.  Jewelry and broaches and things I have yet to decide upon and I’m sure will come down to the last few hours as I’m getting ready, but isn’t that always the case, ladies?

Now all I have to do is wait a few days to twirl around in it.

Leave a Reply

